Tags

, ,

This is sunrise in my nick of the woods, this cool, spring morning on the lower levels of the Amatola mountain range at the tip of deepest, darkest Africa. Dark, because the forests and jungles of this continent still harbor so much that is unseen and unknown by humans. Never dark because it lacks light which can be overpoweringly bright sometimes.

This morning’s light crept up on me almost unawares as I sat reading my Irma Stern book and it illustrates exactly what I was feeling about the kind of art I respond to.

First it must catch my eye. Then it must tug at my vision so I feel slightly disoriented and with that a loss of breath or at least a pause, a sense of excitement. If for quite a while afterwards I don’t feel myself, as if haunted by the image in my mind of the artwork I’ve looked at, then the artist was successful.

Also – there must be enough space in the artwork for me to fill in and lose myself in. Not everything should be described – that can be overpowering and grow tiring very quickly.

Woman sewing a karos by Irma Stern

This is what I would like to achieve as an artist.

