Tags

, , ,

Took a while to gather all the materials needed for this commission – living 200km’s from the nearest sizable city has its disadvantages, but most days I look up at our blue, blue sky and am very glad I live on a mountain plateau far away from “the big smoke”.

If you didn’t catch the post about Going Big! head over there first or else this post will seem rather arbitrary. If you don’t feel like going back in time then briefly I received a commission to paint a large version of a picture of a fleet of Chinese junks in a beautiful seascape. I thought I was doing a reproduction of a painting, but now believe I’m working from a rather lovely, classical looking photograph.

Here’s how it’s looking – still have to take another pass at the sky before adding the boats. Very exciting!

Sky walker

Sky walker

Artist hard at work.

Artist hard at work.

Oh yes! Forgot to mention, the buyer has asked me to bring more blue into the water, if you are wondering about that.

And it’s FINISHED!

Took a lot longer than I thought it would – but what with packing up the household to go sailing, I think I can be forgiven!

Chinese boats at anchor.

Chinese boats at anchor.

 

