Tags

, ,

My bespoke clothing collection is growing – all created by me! I still find sewing dauntingly complicated and mind stretchingly challenging, but that’s what makes being a beginner special.

image

Here’s my ‘Bird of Paradise’ tunic top modelled by a sailing friend Sally – it was a hot afternoon and she even put up with the mozzies biting her! What a star! See that flash of colour on the cuff of the sleeve? That’s what I imagine it must be like to catch sight of a colourful bird of paradise in the jungle.

image

‘Bird of Paradise’ was modelled on one of my favourite tunics that was ready to be retired

image

Here’s a closeup of some of the very simple embroidery and applique work I used:

IMG_20160124_125718

neckline detail

 

With the left over material I re-seated (back and front) an old pair of denim shorts which were going to be unpicked to be used as a pattern, but then I had this brain wave!

image

image

This little bus fare pouch was made from the cuff of a shirt sleeve I shortened – cute and handy and it matches!

image

As you can see – I’m really enjoying the Art of Sewing!

Wild Voices – Messages from the Animals of Africa, a Book and Card set wildvoices.co.za

